Mobile Location Tracking Featured Removed from Facebook

Facebook launched a new feature this past Sunday, which was a location tracking feature that allowed users to see which of their friends were nearby. This feature has been quickly removed, after quick evaluation. The executive team at Facebook seems to not have their head on straight, or maybe the risk platform is too high right now, but it’s time to get the act together in thinking about the security and privacy of every human user of Facebook.

The feature, like all other strange features, turned itself on by default. Which means anyone and everyone would be vulnerable. This type of feature can easily broaden the range of stalkers and make it easier for people to track your location.

As if FourSquare or Facebook Places wasn’t bad enough, this feature grinds many gears in the security world. Why release privacy-violating features, when you know it’s possible they will be removed.

Or let’s see it in Facebook’s eyes: “We’re always testing new features”. IS THAT THE KEY TO YOUR BUSINESS PLAN? For what it’s worth, Facebook, there are a lot better ways to stretch your business without hurting the privacy of others. WHY does every new feature have to do with privacy? Hello! The target of social networking is to bring people closer mentally/emotionally (already connected public friends), but not physically closer.

It’s time to think, Facebook! This may seem like a good idea for some, but for security researchers and others: pure privacy torture!

Advertisements

Tags: , , , , ,

About Jay Pfoutz

Marketer

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Security Experts Worried About Google Now « seCURE Connexion - June 29, 2012
%d bloggers like this: